Team

We are a multidisciplinary team of microbiologists, biochemists and bioinformaticians working together with the aim to combat antimicrobial resistance.

Assoc. Prof. Rietie Venter

Team Leader

My research passion is to understand antimicrobial resistance and to use this knowledge as a basis for antimicrobial drug discovery. I obtained my BSc(Hons) and Master’s degrees with distinction from the University of the Free State in South Africa before securing a scholarship to do a PhD in the UK. After completing my PhD at the University of Leeds, I moved to Cambridge, where I spent twelve years doing research on multidrug transporters, first as a post-doc and later running my own research group as a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow at the University of Cambridge. I joined the University of South Australia as Head of Microbiology in December 2012 where I am leading an internationally acclaimed research group on Antimicrobial Resistance.

Email me: rietie.venter@unisa.edu.au

UniSA Page

Dr. Steven Polyak

Research Associate

Protein biochemist working on Efflux Pump Inhibitors

Email me: Steven.Polyak@unisa.edu.au

Dr. Sylvia Sapula

Research Associate

Molecular Microbiologist and Protein Biochemist. Working on understanding the development and dissemination of antimicrobial resistance in residential aged care facilities.

Email me: sylvia.sapula@unisa.edu.au

Mr Jon Whittall

Research Assistant

Man for every job

Email me: Jon.Whittall@unisa.edu.au

Anteneh Amsalu

PhD student

BSc in Medical Laboratory Technology and Master’s degree in Medical Microbiology. Lecturer and researcher at University of Gondar, Ethiopia. PhD student at University of South Australia since 2018. Research project: Surveillance and characterization of antimicrobial resistance in Gram-negative bacteria from clinical and environmental settings. Antimicrobial resistance is the biggest challenge facing healthcare today. Without urgent action, we stand in danger of entering a post-antibiotic era, where medicine as it is practiced today would no longer be possible. My research is aimed at understanding how resistance is acquired and is disseminated through healthcare as well as the environment. A particular focus is carbapenem resistant Gram-negative bacteria which are on the World Health Organization’s list of critically important pathogens.

Email me: anteneh_amsalu.geremew@mymail.unisa.edu.au

Naomi Siderius

PhD Student

MALDI-TOF MS wizard. Working on the development and dissemination of antimicrobial resistance in Residential Aged Care Facilities.

Email me: naomi.siderius@mymail.unisa.edu.au

Jack Blaikie

PhD student

Working on Antimicrobial Resistant Klebsiella spp. Social secretary of our group.

Email me: jack.blaikie@mymail.unisa.edu.au

 

Belaynesh Asrat

PhD student

Working on Antimicrobial Resistant Gram-positive pathogens

Email me: belaynesh.asrat@mymail.unisa.edu.au

Hong Nguyen

Master Student

and Microbial Artist

Email me: Hong.Nguyen@unisa.edu.au

Yang Chen

Master Student

Working on Efflux Pump Inhibitors

Email me: yang.chen@mymail.unisa.edu.au 

Ximiao Zhang

Master Student

Working on FtsZ Inhibitors

Email me: ximiao.zhang@student.adelaide.edu.au.N

Yu Wang

Master Student

Working on Metallo beta-Lactamases from Chryseobacterium indologenes.

Email me: yu.wang02@student.adelaide.edu.au

Kelly Foo

Honours Student

Working on FtsZ Inhibitors

Email me: fooky010@mymail.unisa.edu.au

Brad Hart

Bioinformatician and part time lab rat.

Email me: Brad.Hart@unisa.edu.au

Dr David Ogunniyi

Visiting Scientist

Antibacterial drug discovery. Master of bioluminescent infection models.

Email me: david.ogunniyi@adelaide.edu.au

Chai Wern Chern (Brian)

Former PhD student. Currently lecturer in Pharmacy at UniSA

Just passed his PhD with flying colours